Christopher Causton noted for community leadership ability

Former Oak Bay mayor earns award for efforts on CRD boards

Christopher Causton speaks at the Victoria Leadership Awards gala on Tuesday.

Christopher Causton speaks at the Victoria Leadership Awards gala on Tuesday.

Former Oak Bay mayor Christopher Causton was among those honoured at the annual Victoria Leadership Awards ceremony Tuesday.

Causton was selected for a Rotary community leadership award, along with CTV staffer Bruce Williams. Causton was singled out for his work with the Capital Regional District, for which he served as parks board chair. In that role he helped bring about the popular regional parks levy and was a driving force behind the E&N Rail Trail.

Climate scientist Andrew Weaver took home a University of Victoria award. The professor at UVic’s School of Earth and Ocean Sciences has been a lead author for the UN Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change’s ongoing scientific assessments.

Kathy Stinson, executive director of the Victoria Cool Aid Society, was honoured by the United Way of Greater Victoria. Stinson led the creation of the Access Health Centre and participates in the Coalition to End Homelessness and Downtown Service Providers.

Leanna Hill won the Vancity Youth Award for her work as youth program co-ordinator with Volunteer Victoria. She co-authored UNESCO’s Youth Engagement in National Commissions Toolkit, used internationally as a model of youth engagement.

Other recipients were Mary Ellen Purkis, Jeannette Hughes, Sherry LeBlanc and the Pacific Centre Family Services Association. Earlier this month, pharmacist and philanthropist Naz Rayani was announced as winner of the lifetime achievement award.