Skip to content

Candidates finalized: 13 names on Oak Bay elector's ballot

Municipal elections are on Nov. 19

Voters have several choices to wade through as the countdown to the municipal election of Nov. 19 officially begins.

Eleven people seek one of six spots on Oak Bay council, including three incumbent councillors and eight non-elected names.

Two additional incumbents are racing for the mayor’s seat, left vacant by Christopher Causton. They are current councillors Hazel Braithwaite and Nils Jensen.

Seeking council positions are:

Corey Burger

A council hopeful in the 2008 election, but last-place finisher. He is an events manager and an urban geography student at the University of Victoria.

Bill Carver

Pam Copley

An Oak Bay councillor since 2005, and member of the Greater Victoria Public Library board, the CRD arts committee and the Royal and McPherson Theatres Society.

Cairine Green

A current North Saanich councillor, former parole officer, educational counsellor, policy analyst for the Advanced Education Ministry and former divorce counsellor.

Gregory Hartnell

A many-time candidate for council in the City of Victoria, member of the Concerned Citizens’ Coalition.

John Herbert

An Oak Bay councillor since 1999, liaison to the Oak Bay Business Improvement Association and the Oak Bay Tourism Committee, member of the CRD core area liquid waste management committee.

Michelle Kirby

Candidate in 2008, executive with the Community Association of Oak Bay.

Colleen Kirkpatrick

Registered nurse, former vice-president of Red Cross Southern Alberta region.

Kevin Murdoch

Business executive, alumni of Oak Bay High, Camosun College, and UVic, grandson of former long-time Oak Bay councillor and reeve (the former term for mayor), George Murdoch.

Tara Ney

Oak Bay councillor since 2008, member of the Oak Bay Heritage Foundation, the Family Court committee and the CRD solid waste advisory committee

Susan Woods

Candidate in the 2010 City of Victoria by-election, former historical radio show host, owner of the Moss Rock Review magazine and communications consultant.

Vying for the mayor’s seat are:

Hazel Braithwaite

Councillor since 2005, member of the Oak Bay child and youth committee, liaison to the parks and recreation commission, member of the community initiatives committee.

Nils Jensen

Councillor since 1996, serves on the secondary suites review committee, member of the CRD water supply commission, Capital Region Emergency Services Telecommunications Corporation board member, liaison to the Greater Victoria school district and UVic.