Sema Hamidi and Kieran Atkinson were named winners of the coveted Merit Cup. More photos online at under the Oak Bay ‘neighbourhood’ tab.

Oak Bay High awards its inspiring youth

Oak Bay High recognized students for efforts in service, citizenship, and achievement on Monday.

Oak Bay High recognized students for efforts in service, citizenship, and achievement on Monday.





student awards


International student program spirit award: Kazuho Sakai

Top academic international student: Maya Ando

Euclid Math Contest school champion: Xiaochi Fan



Humanitarian awards

Pam Vickers Award: Hanna Bourget

Lori Konkin-Barkes Memorial Award: Jane Lindroos

Jean Clark Humanitarian Award: Gillian Briggs

Oak Bay Humanitarian Award: Adam Walton



Service awards

Cafeteria: Taylor Bigrigg, Mairi Chester, Christie Cook, Marc Goldbach, Jared Ellis, Nicolas Ihmels, Nadine Kerr, Sam Kitchen, Alex Law, Alex Nyberg, Andrew Ramsdale, Cody Tsatsanis, Holden Wightman, Nathan Wong, Jessica Leibel, Kaleb Robilliard, Lorenzo Ruffalo, Rowan Swannell, Demetri Kayiatos, Brendan McComb

Student Council Millennium Award: Anna Young

Green & White Awards: Mohammed Abousaleh, Ana Adams, Linden Andersen, Madelyn Brunt, Rory Hills, Cassie Jenkins, Claire Korberg, Felix Lambrecht, Lauren McMillan, Jacqueline Miller, Kendra Murphy, Jakob Rimmer, Gen Sedun, Olivia Spence, Sophie Underwood, Sander Van Driesum, Chloe Van Neutegem, Claire Wood

Manning Trophy (junior service): Ruby Tang

Oak Bay Difference Maker Award: Cetareh Mohsenzadeh-Green

Kiwanis Citizenship Award (senior service): Ella Van Neutegem

Spirit awards

Class of ’94 Spirit Award: Marie-Anne Dussault Gomez

Jan Burns Grad Spirit Award: Sierra Kachan



Fine arts awards


Sydney Miller Junior Choir Citizenship and Achievement Award: Colin Mooney

Nell Howard Music Award: Abby Stein

Eileen Cooper Music Award: Sunny Sheffman


Richard D. Hall Memorial Trophy: Felix Lambrecht

Senior Band Citizenship Award: Caitlin McColl

String orchestra

String Orchestra Citizenship award

Junior: Stephanie Jun

Senior: Sean Stinson


Dance Spirit Award: Amanda Wild

Dance Troupe Award: Amanda Wild

Stu Barber Award for most improved in dance: Genevieve Riches

Choreography award: Julia Bose

Top overall dancer: Hannah Daughtry

Acting awards

Most promising actor: Juliette Irving

Musical theatre award: Paige Marshall

Stagecraft award: Ryan Baigent

Best junior actor: George Ramsay

Best senior actor: Jay O’Connell

Visual arts

Senior visual arts achievement: James Letkemean

Achievement in photography: Hannah Carr

Achievement in senior ceramics: Olivia Cavanagh

Overall fine arts

Leadership in fine arts: Katie Atherton and Tom Davies

All-round junior achievement: Liam Marshall

All-round senior achievement: Jessica Duncan



Athletic awards

Small block awards: Natalie Baarz, Lily Baines, Sabine Boisvert, Derek Brougham, Danielle Calvelti, Rachel Carey, James Carson, Caroline Crossley, Sophie De Goede, Bryn Evans, Una Farrar, Nicole Felizardo, Johnny Fitterer, Natasha Gutierrez, Mattie Grant, Aidan Harrison, Glen Harrison, Nicholas Johnson, Meaghan Kivell, Gavin Kratz, Claire Korberg, Calvin Litton, Jack Longo, Larry Lu, Anna Mazza, Madhu McConnell, Max McCulloch, Lauren McMillan, James McNab, Patrick Murphy, Sam Piercy, Asia Rattigan, Leigha Russell, Olivia Spence, Malcolm Tanner, Nick Taylor, Jahniaa Thomas, Katie Tucker, Izak Walters, Timo Weimer, Nathan Wong

Large block awards: Kieran Atkinson, Ashley Dukeshire, Noah Harris, Jane Kelly, Sophie Kelly, Jack Lilly, Jessica Manness, Andrea Psotka, Patricia Reed, Owen Sieffert.

Athletic awards of excellence (sweater award): Gillian Briggs, Madelyn Brunt, Marie-Anne Dussault Gomez, Patricia Reid, Morgan Roskelley, Kinna Turner, Camille Van Tassel

Junior spirit award: Gavin Kratz

Top junior male athlete: Madhu McConnell

Top junior female athlete: Caroline Crossley

Senior spirit award: Gillian Briggs and Kieran Atkinson

Top senior female athlete: Morgan Roskelley

Top senior male athlete: Owen Sieffert



Grade 12 Farewell

Student council recognition: Linden Andersen and Will Wang

Valedictorian recognition: Mohammed Abousaleh and Sophie Underwood


Merit Cup: Kieran Atkinson and Sema Hamidi



Just Posted

Saanich police are looking for a man who exposed himself Saturday night

The incident exposure happened at the intersection of Feltham Road and Shelbourne Street

Readers Theatre returns to Victoria’s Emanu-El

Born at Congregation Emanu-El’s 2013 Arts Festival, Bema Productions is back for its fifth season

Victoria-bound plane slides off icy Edmonton runway

Crew, passengers had to disembark via bridge stairs

VIDEO: Hundreds gather in Victoria as part of global Women’s March for equality

‘End Violence Against Women’ march theme for 2019

Almost four of 10 Canadians have unlimited internet data at home

Fifty-four per cent say they telecommute at least sometimes

Students seen mocking Native Americans could face expulsion

One 11-minute video of the confrontation shows the Haka dance and students loudly chanting

B.C. VIEWS: Fact-checking the NDP’s speculation tax on empty homes

Negative-option billing is still legal for governments

May plans next move in Brexit fight as chances rise of delay

Some say a lack of action could trigger a ‘public tsunami’

Group challenges ruling for doctors to give referrals for services that clash with beliefs

A group of five Canadian doctors and three professional organizations is appealing

Major winter storm wreaks havoc on U.S. travel

Nearly 5,000 flights were cancelled Sunday around the country

Want to avoid the speculation tax on your vacant home? Rent it out, Horgan says

Premier John Horgan and Sheila Malcolmson say speculation and vacancy tax addresses homelessness

CONSUMER REPORT: What to buy each month in 2019 to save money

Resolve to buy all of the things you want and need, but pay less money for them

UPDATE: B.C. woman and boy, 6, found safe, RCMP confirm

Roseanne Supernault says both she and her six-year-old nephew are fine and she has contacted police

Most Read