Must-read selections for the spring bookshelf

Librarian offers her book selections from the Oak Bay library shelves

Best Boy, by Eli Gottlieb – Todd Aaron is autistic man who after being in an institution for 40 years, decides to create an escape plan, acting on his yearning to see his childhood home. It is an eloquent, moving and sensitive story told through Todd’s unique voice.

• The Fair Fight, by Anna Freeman – This dynamic historical novel will appeal to fans of Sarah Waters and Judith Flanders. This sweeping story is told by three narrators: Ruth, a prizefighter born into a brothel; George, the youngest son of minor gentry who struggles to make his own way; and Charlotte, the smallpox-scarred sister of Perry, George’s rich, wastrel friend and lover.

Fates and Furies, by Lauren Groff – An ambitious story of a complex marriage told through the perspective of both spouses, giving two critically different sets of events. It’s a fascinating character study, and study of how a marriage works.

Hold Onto Your Kids: Why Parents Need to Matter More Than Peers, by Gordon Neufeld & Gabor Mate – This text by the renowned authors, psychologist Neufeld and Dr. Mate, effectively balances the theoretical with the practical, giving insight into modern parenting. It has simple ideas and steps and is directed to parents, as well as educators, social workers and counsellors.

Hold Still, by Sally Mann – This is a fascinating memoir and family history from the acclaimed photographer. Her luminous photographs have become icons of modern art, but Mann also possesses a fearlessness and clarity of vision in her writing.

Minister Without Portfolio, by Michael Winter – A CBC Canada Reads contender, this is an emotionally affecting work filled with truths about the frailties and miracles of human nature. It tells the story of a Canadian who joins an army-affiliated contracting crew that takes him overseas to a Canadian base in Afghanistan. Upon returning, he must come to grips with how he’s been changed by war.

My Life on the Road, by Gloria Steinem – Told from the unique perspective of one of the feminist icons of the 20th and 21st centuries, this is a political, social and cultural memoir of one woman’s life-long journey.

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman – First published in 1997, brilliant storyteller Gaiman’s darkly hypnotic first novel, Neverwhere, heralded the arrival of this major talent and became a touchstone of urban fantasy. The republished book has a number of scenes cut from the original.

The Riverton Rifle: My story – Straight Shooting on Hockey and on Life, by Reggie Leach – “It all comes down to making the right life choices,” says the NHL’s legendary Reggie Leach, a Canadian from Berens River First Nation in Manitoba, and this intimate biography lays bare the decisions that led him to become one of the best snipers in hockey history.

Twain’s End, by Lynn Cullen – The extraordinary and unusual relationship between the popular, complicated author Samuel Clemens, aka Mark Twain, and his longtime secretary Isabel Lyon is creatively reimagined in this absorbing novel. The author draws heavily on diary entries and other primary sources.

Sarah Isbister, Children & Family Literacy Librarian for the Oak Bay Branch of the Greater Victoria Public Library, shares favourite titles for children and adults twice a month.

 

Just Posted

Murdered and missing honoured at Stolen Sisters Memorial March in Victoria

‘We come together to make change within the systems in our society’

Public packs Victoria mosque during B.C.’s Open Mosque Day

‘The best way to deal with fear is to educate. That’s what we are trying to do here’

A breakdown of Oak Bay candidates’ campaign spending

A look at expenses, contributions during the 2018 municipal election

Turning pro on the Island

Pacific FC’s Brad Norris-Jones talks about his journey to pro sports in Victoria

Vancouver Island First Nations Youth Ambassadors deliver message to the United Nations

The delegation appeared at an event celebrating ‘the rich tapestry of global cultural diversity’

B.C. students win Great Waters Challenge video contest

Video, mural and song about saving the salmon claims the top prize

B.C. VIEWS: Power politics wins over rational energy policy

B.C Hydro continues to face interference on rates

PR firm suspends contract with former B.C. premier amid groping accusation

Edelman says in a statement that Campbell has served as a special adviser to the firm since last July

James says B.C. budget puts priorities on NDP’s poverty, environment plans

She said she expected the government’s poverty reduction and climate change strategies to be priorities in the budget

PHOTOS: Day 1 of the 2019 Canada Winter Games in Red Deer

Games kicked off in Red Deer this week

Ammonia leak shuts down curling club in Nelson

It’s not yet clear when the leak was detected

Pavelski’s 31st goal helps Sharks top Canucks 3-2

Vancouver one point out of second NHL wild-card spot

Eight cases of measles confirmed in Vancouver outbreak

Coastal Health official say the cases stem from the French-language Ecole Jules Verne Secondary

Most Read