Must-read selections for the spring bookshelf

Librarian offers her book selections from the Oak Bay library shelves

Best Boy, by Eli Gottlieb – Todd Aaron is autistic man who after being in an institution for 40 years, decides to create an escape plan, acting on his yearning to see his childhood home. It is an eloquent, moving and sensitive story told through Todd’s unique voice.

• The Fair Fight, by Anna Freeman – This dynamic historical novel will appeal to fans of Sarah Waters and Judith Flanders. This sweeping story is told by three narrators: Ruth, a prizefighter born into a brothel; George, the youngest son of minor gentry who struggles to make his own way; and Charlotte, the smallpox-scarred sister of Perry, George’s rich, wastrel friend and lover.

Fates and Furies, by Lauren Groff – An ambitious story of a complex marriage told through the perspective of both spouses, giving two critically different sets of events. It’s a fascinating character study, and study of how a marriage works.

Hold Onto Your Kids: Why Parents Need to Matter More Than Peers, by Gordon Neufeld & Gabor Mate – This text by the renowned authors, psychologist Neufeld and Dr. Mate, effectively balances the theoretical with the practical, giving insight into modern parenting. It has simple ideas and steps and is directed to parents, as well as educators, social workers and counsellors.

Hold Still, by Sally Mann – This is a fascinating memoir and family history from the acclaimed photographer. Her luminous photographs have become icons of modern art, but Mann also possesses a fearlessness and clarity of vision in her writing.

Minister Without Portfolio, by Michael Winter – A CBC Canada Reads contender, this is an emotionally affecting work filled with truths about the frailties and miracles of human nature. It tells the story of a Canadian who joins an army-affiliated contracting crew that takes him overseas to a Canadian base in Afghanistan. Upon returning, he must come to grips with how he’s been changed by war.

My Life on the Road, by Gloria Steinem – Told from the unique perspective of one of the feminist icons of the 20th and 21st centuries, this is a political, social and cultural memoir of one woman’s life-long journey.

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman – First published in 1997, brilliant storyteller Gaiman’s darkly hypnotic first novel, Neverwhere, heralded the arrival of this major talent and became a touchstone of urban fantasy. The republished book has a number of scenes cut from the original.

The Riverton Rifle: My story – Straight Shooting on Hockey and on Life, by Reggie Leach – “It all comes down to making the right life choices,” says the NHL’s legendary Reggie Leach, a Canadian from Berens River First Nation in Manitoba, and this intimate biography lays bare the decisions that led him to become one of the best snipers in hockey history.

Twain’s End, by Lynn Cullen – The extraordinary and unusual relationship between the popular, complicated author Samuel Clemens, aka Mark Twain, and his longtime secretary Isabel Lyon is creatively reimagined in this absorbing novel. The author draws heavily on diary entries and other primary sources.

Sarah Isbister, Children & Family Literacy Librarian for the Oak Bay Branch of the Greater Victoria Public Library, shares favourite titles for children and adults twice a month.

 

Just Posted

Classy cruiser continues to pay it forward

Bike up for sale to fund Sno’uyutth Legacy scholarships

Dance club marks 35 years with Sunday evening shindig

People Meeting People host dinner and dance Feb. 25 at Monterey Recreation

Significant heritage house on Beach Drive to be restored

Heritage Revitalization Agreement approved as part of subdivision proposal

Experts to capture and collar 20 female deer in Oak Bay starting this month

Does sedated, examined, collared and ear tagged in latest phase of deer management plan

B.C. BUDGET: Fare freeze, free travel for seniors on BC Ferries

A complete fare freeze will be put into place on major routes, and fares will be rolled back on smaller routes by 15 per cent

VIDEO: Top 10 B.C. budget highlights

The NDP is focusing on childcare, affordable housing and speeding up the elimination of MSP premiums

Canucks blow three goal lead, lose to Avalanche in overtime

Vancouver struggled on the penalty kill, as Colorado scored all five goals on the powerplay

Widow of avalanche victim sues Golden lodge operator

A woman from Alberta is suing guides, their mountain guide association and the lodge operator for negligence

BC BUDGET: NDP hope to nix court delays with $15 million cash influx

Union says funding could stop sheriffs from leaving for higher paid jobs

Cattlemen urge B.C. to prevent erosion caused during 2017 wildfire season

Other concerns are fencing restoration and repair, and a lack of feed for cattle.

B.C. runner takes silver at Pan American cross-country championships

Tyler Dozzi’s medal pushes U20 Team Canada to gold finish

Duncan cousins found guilty of aggravated sexual assault

Assault so violent, victim required surgery

Wanted by Greater Victoria Crime Stoppers for the week of Feb. 20

Greater Victoria Crime Stoppers is seeking the public’s help in locating the… Continue reading

Victoria airport to spend $19.4m on terminal expansion

Record passenger growth means YYJ needs to grow

Most Read