While the University of Victoria staff, students and alumni look forward to the anticipated opening of the brand new Centre for Athletics, Recreation and Special Abilities, they do so while appreciating the legacy created on the hardwood of the McKinnon Gym.
In recognition of the memories created within its storied walls, the school is asking the community to share its favourite stories and photos from the last 40 years, an opportunity to recognize an important chapter of UVic’s history as the campus transitions to using both McKinnon Gym and the new centre in the spring of 2015.
Built in 1975, the McKinnon Gym has been home to Vikes Athletics, the school of exercise science, physical and health education and recreation users from the campus and community. The building is iconic for the gymnasium floor, home of the Vikes basketball programs, as well as the indoor pool, dance studio, squash courts and main lobby area.
Stories and photos from the classrooms, exam time or working out, the swimming pool or gymnasium are all welcome. Written submissions and photos can be posted with a caption online at facebook.com/iheartmck. Submissions are requested by Feb. 5 and will be a part of a celebration at the final varsity basketball game.
The McKinnon building was named for legendary Victoria sports community member Archie McKinnon (1896-1984) who coached Canadian athletes at four Olympic games and was a swimming and track and field instructor at the YMCA.
UVic’s varsity basketball teams will grace Ken and Kathy Shields Court inside McKinnon Gym for one last time on Feb. 14 in their final regular season home games. The women tip off at 5 p.m., while the men play at 7 p.m.